The Walkley Judging Board

The Walkley Judging Board plays a pivotal role in the work of the Walkley Foundation. Made up of senior members of the Australian media industry, the board members are appointed by the Directors of the Foundation and function as custodians of the Walkley Awards. They are responsible for judging the overall winners of the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism after the first stage of judging. They also act as ambassadors for the Foundation.

Lenore Taylor


Lenore Taylor is the editor of Guardian Australia. Over almost three decades of political reporting, she has won two Walkley awards and twice won the Paul Lyneham Award for excellence in press gallery journalism. She was the Australian Financial Review’s Europe correspondent in the early 2000s. She co-authored the book Shitstorm: Inside Labor’s Darkest Days, which examined the Rudd government’s response to the global economic crisis.

Claire Harvey

Deputy Chair

Claire Harvey is deputy editor of The Sunday Telegraph, Australia’s biggest-selling newspaper, where she also writes a column. Claire started her career at The Australian in 1994 as a copygirl. She worked at The Australian for a decade, covering various rounds including politics and spending three years as New Zealand correspondent, from where she also covered the Pacific Islands, before working for two years as a senior writer and columnist at The New Zealand Herald. In 2008 she returned to Australia as senior writer and columnist at The Sunday Telegraph, before becoming deputy editor in 2012. She lives in Sydney.

Natalie Ahmat

Natalie Ahmat is a proud Mudburra and Maluyligal First Nations woman, who is passionate about telling Australian stories through an Indigenous lens. She currently presents NITV News and is a regular contributor on NITV’s current affairs program, The Point. Natalie has also fronted NITV’s live coverage of significant Indigenous events, including Garma from north-east Arnhem Land, the Uluru First Nations Constitutional Convention and the National NAIDOC Awards.

Michael Bachelard

Michael Bachelard is the Gold Walkley Award-winning editor of The Age investigations unit, and the foreign editor of Fairfax Media. He began his career in 1990 at The Canberra Times before moving to Melbourne in 1997. He has four Walkley awards and has written two books, The Great Land Grab and Behind the Exclusive Brethren.
ABC Journalist Michael Brissenden

Michael Brissenden

Michael Brissenden has been a political journalist and foreign correspondent for the ABC since 1987. He began his career covering Federal politics and has been a correspondent in Moscow, Brussels and Washington. He was the political editor for the 7.30 Report in Canberra from 2003 to 2009, the ABC's Defence and National Security Correspondent between 2013 and 2015 and the host of the AM national radio program. In 2017 Michael joined the 4 Corners program as a reporter. Michael is a two-time Walkley Award-winner. He has written for a number of newspapers and magazines and has published both fiction and nonfiction books.

Patricia Karvelas

Patricia Karvelas began her professional career at the ABC and SBS 20 years ago. She currently presents ABC Radio National’s flagship radio current affairs program RN Drive. Patricia also hosts National Wrap on the ABC News 24 channel on Sunday evenings, featuring in-depth interviews with a range of influential Australians. She also co-hosts the ABC’s popular weekly political podcast, The Party Room.

Mags King

Mags King has been a photo editor for 20 years and has worked for major media organisations in London and Sydney. In 2012 she was appointed managing photographic editor across The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian Financial Review. Mags has been a photographic judge for the Walkley Awards, Amnesty International, Indian Photographic Festival and Clique. She has curated and produced photographic exhibitions including Photos 1440, Spectrum Now, Into the Line of Fire, Weather, and exhibitions for the Indian Photo Festival and the Head On Photo Festival.

Deborah Knight

Deborah Knight became co-anchor of Sydney’s Ten News at Five Bulletin in January 2006, before moving to Nine, where she has hosted Financial Review Sunday, co-hosted Weekend Today, filled in as host of A Current Affair, and regularly hosts and reads the news on the Today Show and Today Extra. She is currently reading the Weekend News for 6pm News in Sydney.

Stella Lauri

Stella Lauri is the network news director of Australia’s largest regional news service – WIN News. Stella is responsible for 16 half-hour news bulletins weeknights and weekends in Tasmania, the one-hour nightly bulletin All Australian News and more than 180 news updates a day. Over a career spanning 25 years, Stella has worked at Channel 9 and taught postgraduate students studying broadcast journalism at the University of Wollongong.

John Lehmann

John Lehmann is the editor of The Australian. He has worked in senior roles on newspapers in Australia and the United States during his 25-year journalism career. He is a former editor-in-chief of Australia’s storied The Bulletin magazine, was editor at large of Sydney’s The Daily Telegraph and news editor of the Sunday New York Post. The Australian has been awarded the PANPA Newspaper of the Year award twice during his editorship.

Hamish Macdonald

Hamish Macdonald is a host of The Project on Network 10 and Breakfast on ABC Radio National. He is an award-winning broadcaster and foreign correspondent who has covered wars in Afghanistan, Ukraine and Libya, the Egyptian revolution and the rise of ISIS in the Middle East, and the election of both Obama and Trump in America. In 2013 Hamish was appointed International Affairs Correspondent for America’s ABC News, after a career anchoring and reporting for Al Jazeera English, United Kingdom’s Channel 4 and ITV and Australia’s Network Ten. Hamish received the Walkley Award for Current Affairs Journalism and a Human Rights Australia Award for Broadcast Journalism in 2012. Britain’s Royal Television Society named him Young Journalist of the Year in 2008. In 2016 he became a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University.

Mark Mallabone

Mark Mallabone is the deputy editor of The West Australian. In a career spanning more than 20 years at the newspaper, he has held a wide range of editorial executive positions including night editor, features editor and chief of staff. He has worked as a political reporter in Perth and Parliament House in Canberra. He is currently based in Perth.

Heidi Murphy

Heidi Murphy has been working as a journalist in commercial radio for 20 years, across Queensland and Victoria. For eight years, she covered state politics in Melbourne, winning three Melbourne Press Club Quill Awards for her stories. Since the beginning of 2014, she has been the Executive Producer of Neil Mitchell’s top-rating Mornings program at Radio 3AW. She is also currently a part-time Channel Nine television reporter.

Bhakthi Puvanenthiran

Bhakthi Puvanenthiran is editor of ABC Life. Previously, she was managing editor of Crikey, covering politics and the media as well as a journalist and editor at The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald reporting on arts, entertainment and business. Bhakthi co-hosted the podcast Hard Bargain (Fairfax Media). Her career began at the National Young Writers’ Festival and Melbourne Writers’ Festival and she has previously judged the Victorian Premier’s Prize for Literature (nonfiction) twice. Bhakthi is a regular media commentator.

Tory Shepherd

Tory Shepherd is a senior columnist and The Advertiser’s state editor. She has appeared on a range of television shows including The Chaser, Insiders, Today, Sunrise, The Project and The Drum. Her radio gigs include ABC Adelaide, Radio National and News Radio as well as FiveAA. Tory is a multiple award winner and an APJC and Churchill Fellow.